The Executive Board of the Wyss Center for Bio and Neuroengineering has announced that Dr Mary Tolikas will assume responsibility as Executive Director on 1st June 2019, taking over from Professor John Donoghue.

Dr Tolikas has more than twenty years’ experience establishing and growing technology-based companies and organisations in industry and academia. She was instrumental in the launching and growth of the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University where she spent almost ten years in the leadership team.

Dr Mary Tolikas said: “I am tremendously excited and privileged to have the opportunity to lead the Wyss Center on the next phase of its journey. I look forward to working with the Wyss Center staff, and the Center’s collaborators across the academic, clinical and industrial realms to expand the reach and impact of their work, improving patients’ lives around the world.”

Dr Tolikas earned her undergraduate degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering at the University of Glasgow, Scotland. She then went on to gain a Master’s degree and Doctorate in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). She also holds an MBA from the Sloan School of Management at MIT. She has dual US and Greek citizenship.

Professor Donoghue said: “After a whirlwind five years during which we worked hard to establish the Wyss Center as a leader in translational neurotechnology, I am delighted to be handing over the reins to Mary. I have full confidence that she has the talent and experience to guide the Wyss Center in the coming years”.

Professor Donoghue, who was the founding director of the Wyss Center in 2013, is stepping down after a planned five-year term at the helm. During his Directorship, the Center, which is based at Campus Biotech in Geneva, built a globally unique interdisciplinary team and launched multiple neurotechnology projects. Many of these are now maturing into viable clinical devices for disorders such as epilepsy, vision loss, stroke and spinal cord injury. Professor Donoghue has also worked closely with the greater Campus Biotech community to establish its cutting-edge research and development engineering and neuroscience platforms.

Professor Donoghue will resume responsibilities at Brown University where he maintains a professorship.

https://www.wysscenter.ch/2019/06/03/dr-mary-tolikas-announced-as-new-director-of-the-wyss-center/

i-news-events

Le Conseil d'administration du Wyss Center for Bio and Neuroengineering a annoncé que la Dr Mary Tolikas assumera les fonctions de Directrice exécutive à partir du 1er juin 2019, succédant ainsi au Professeur John Donoghue.

La Dr Mary Tolikas a acquis plus de vingt ans d'expérience dans la création et dans le développement d'entreprises et d'organisations basées sur la technologie, tant dans le domaine de l'industrie que dans le monde académique. Elle a joué un rôle déterminant dans le lancement et dans la croissance du Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering de l'Université d’Harvard, où elle a passé près de dix ans dans l'équipe de direction.

La Dr Mary Tolikas a affirmé : "Je suis extrêmement enthousiaste et c’est pour moi un privilège d'avoir l'occasion de diriger le Wyss Center dans sa prochaine phase de développement. J'ai hâte de travailler avec le personnel du Wyss Center et avec les collaborateurs du Centre dans les domaines académique, clinique et industriel pour étendre la portée et l'impact de leur travail et améliorer la vie des patients dans le monde entier."

La Dr Tolikas a obtenu son diplôme de premier cycle en génie électrique et électronique à l'Université de Glasgow, en Écosse. Elle a ensuite obtenu une maîtrise et un doctorat en génie électrique et en informatique au Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). Elle est également titulaire d'un MBA de la Sloan School of Management du MIT. Elle a la double nationalité américaine et grecque.

Le professeur Donoghue a déclaré : "Après cinq années de travail acharné pour faire du Wyss Center un leader dans le domaine de la neurotechnologie translationnelle, je suis ravi de passer le flambeau à Mary. Je suis convaincu qu'elle a le talent et l'expérience nécessaires pour guider le Wyss Center ces prochaines années".

Le professeur Donoghue, directeur fondateur du Wyss Center depuis 2013, se retire après un mandat de cinq ans à sa tête. Au cours de son mandat de directeur, le Centre, basé au Campus Biotech à Genève, a constitué une équipe interdisciplinaire unique au monde et a lancé de multiples projets en neurotechnologie. Bon nombre d'entre eux sont en voie de devenir des dispositifs cliniques viables pour soigner des troubles du système nerveux tels que l'épilepsie, la perte de la vision, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et les lésions de la moelle épinière. Le professeur Donoghue a également travaillé en étroite collaboration avec l'ensemble de la communauté du Campus Biotech pour établir des plateformes de recherche de pointe en ingénierie et en neurosciences. 

Le professeur Donoghue reprendra ses responsabilités à l'Université Brown, où il conserve un poste de professeur.

https://www.wysscenter.ch/2019/06/03/dr-mary-tolikas-announced-as-new-director-of-the-wyss-center/

i-news-events